Pride & Prejudice (2005)

Image

The most lushly romantic film I’ve seen so far, and it’s done so brilliantly that I actually thoroughly enjoyed it. As I’m not one to like or watch many romantic movies, this is speaking volumes. Perhaps it’s the mere fact that it’s an adaptation of Jane Austen’s great novel and the way it reveals the many social issues of 19th century England that makes me like it so much, as I’m highly interested in social issues. And although this story is set in the past, it retains a fascination amongst its modern readers/viewers because it can relate in one way or another to today’s complex social issues regarding romantic love and maturation (growing up) in general.

This particular adaptation of Pride & Prejudice presents the story gloriously. Elizabeth Bennet (Knightley) meets Mr. Darcy (Matthew Macfayden) and she believes he is the last man on earth she could every fall in love with. However, as their lives intertwine in unexpected events, she finds herself captivated and entranced by the very man she swore to loathe for all eternity. Pride & Prejudice focuses on the prejudice between the 19th century classes and the pride that would keep lovers apart. This is a classic tale of love and misunderstanding that sparkles with romance, wit and emotional force.

The cinematography in this adaptation is stunning throughout the entire film, keeping your eyes glued to the screen. The actors are marvellous, with noted actors such as Keira Knightley, Matthew Macfayden, Judi Dench, and Donald Sutherland.

Memorable quotes:

Mr. Darcy: Miss Elizabeth. I have struggled in vain and I can bear it no longer. These past months have been a torment. I came to Rosings with the single object of seeing you… I had to see you. I have fought against my better judgment, my family’s expectations, the inferiority of your birth by rank and circumstance. All these things I am willing to put aside and ask you to end my agony.

Elizabeth: I don’t understand.

Mr. Darcy: I love you. (Pause) Most ardently.

***

Mr. Darcy: So this is your opinion of me. Thank you for explaining so fully. Perhaps these offences might have been overlooked had not your pride been hurt by my honesty…
Elizabeth Bennet: *My* pride?
Mr. Darcy: …in admitting scruples about our relationship. Could you expect me to rejoice in the inferiority of your circumstances?
Elizabeth Bennet: And those are the words of a gentleman. From the first moment I met you, your arrogance and conceit, your selfish disdain for the feelings of others made me realize that you were the last man in the world I could ever be prevailed upon to marry.
[they look at each other for a long time as though about to kiss]
Mr. Darcy: Forgive me, madam, for taking up so much of your time.

Image

2 Comments

Filed under film, Film Review, Film Summary, movies

2 responses to “Pride & Prejudice (2005)

  1. What i do not understood is actually how you are no longer
    really much more smartly-favored than you might be right now.
    You’re so intelligent. You know thus significantly with regards to this subject, made me personally believe it from a lot of various angles. Its like women and men aren’t fascinated except
    it’s something to do with Girl gaga! Your personal stuffs excellent. All the time maintain it up!

Leave a Reply

